jump to navigation

Small Business Tactic: Record Yourself! July 6, 2007

Posted by David Dirks in Keeping Organized.
trackback

dirksphoto.jpgHow many times have you seen an great idea, thought of a great idea, wanted to add another item to your small business ‘to-do’ list, but forget them soon after? It happens to me more often than I’d like to admit. To combat the problem, at first I would bring a pad/pencil with me. Well, that always doesn’t work well. Sometimes there isn’t time or it isn’t the place for a notation.

What I needed was a way to insure I was able get every detail of the idea or note. Problem solved: I bought a small, digital recorder (Sony ICD-B120). I’m not pushing the Sony brand. I’m pushing the idea that if you’re in the mix of working your business everyday, a small digital recorder will help.

Keep it in your pocket and when you need to make a mental note to yourself, you just hit record and speak away. I use mine all the time. It’s tiny enough to fit anywhere and not be a problem to carry. I can record hours of notes and play them back when I’m ready.

When your in your own business and in the thick of making it work, keeping track of your ‘things to do’ and ‘next great idea’ is one way to stay ahead…and keep your sanity.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

